Seabed 2030

Number of attendees: 43

Workshop with the theme “Seabed 2030”

Location: Antwerp Maritime Academy, Noordkasteel-Oost 6, 2030 Antwerp

Chairman of the day: Koen Vanstaen

Language: this workshop will be entirely in English due to international speakers.

Workshop description:

Seabed 2030 is a collaborative project between the Nippon Foundation of Japan and the General Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans (GEBCO). The aim is to bring together all available bathymetric data to produce the definitive map of the world ocean floor by 2030 and make it publicly available.

This ambition can only be realized with contributions from a wide range of stakeholders, including governments, industry, academia and the public.

In this workshop, we hear from the Seabed 2030 Director about the initiative, progress to date and partnerships to unlock data. And local players Fugro and Global Sea Mineral Resources also share their data sharing experience. The workshop hopes to inspire attendees on how they can contribute to this initiative.

Members and non-members are welcome. For physical presence please register via the website by means of the registration button at the top of this page.


13:30 Doors open

14:00 Opening by Koen Vanstaen

14:10 Presentation by Jamie McMichael-Phillips – Seabed 2030 Director

14:40 Presentation by Emma Kilcoyne – Fugro

15:10 Presentation by François Charlet – Global Sea Mineral Resources (DEME)

15:40 Questions and summary

16:00 Networking drink

Hybrid workshop:

For the first time it will be possible to attend an HSB workshop online. If you are interested in attending this workshop online: Register here. A few days before the workshop you will receive a link to attend the workshop online.

The workshop has been held at:
Antwerp Maritime Academy - Institute for Hydrography
Noordkasteel Oost 6
2030, Antwerp
List of attendees:
Alain de Wulf
Amélie Bories
Antonin Drouet
Axel Annaert
Bastian Lamour
Bavo Busschaert
Britt Lonneville
Camille Hue
Dimitris Tsagkalidis
François Rivière
Gert Brouns
Guido Speelman
Jan Hemelaer
Johan Verstraeten
Jules Boulatoff
Julie Desmet
Kevin Verelst
Koen Vanstaen
Leeke van der Poel
Leonard Mooijman
Lola Henneuse
Lotte Schuitema
Lucie Trebaol
Maelle lucas
Marius Jaunet
Mathias BOSSY
Maxime Deketele
Michel Ausems
Nicolas Lebourg
Oscar de Haan
Oscar José Zurita Hurtado
Paul Dubégny
Robyn-Rose Cross
Sander Terwee
Sebastiaan Van Geel
Siméon Ridel
Sofie Lahousse
Soline Branellec
Stijn Lombaerts